The 16th Central Luzon Regional Development Council (RDC III) held its reconstitution meeting on 30 August 2019 at the NEDA Regional Office 3, Maimpis, City of San Fernando, Pampanga in compliance with Executive Order  (EO) 325 which provides that the RDCs reorganize every three years consistent with the terms of office of elected local officials.

The activity commenced with the oath-taking of the 13 Private Sector Representatives (PSRs) of RDC III for 2019-2022 which was administered by Regional Director Leon M. Dacanay, Jr. of NEDA 3, Acting Chairperson of RDC III. The 11 PSRs representing the Development Administration, Social, Economic and Infrastructure sectors were selected during the Regional forum on volunteerism cum PSR election on 15 August 2019 while the other two PSRs were endorsed by the Provincial Development Councils of Aurora and Bataan.

The highlight of the reconstitution meeting was the election of nominees for RDC III Chairperson and Co-chairperson.  The Full Council endorsed the nominations of Governor Albert Raymond Garcia of Bataan and Governor Hermogenes Ebdane, Jr. of Zambales from the government sector, and Dr. Reynato Arimbuyutan and Dr. Elena Tesoro from the private sector. The names of the four nominees shall be submitted to the President for his appointment of the RDC III Chairperson and Co-chairperson.

As the highest policy and decision-making body in the region, the first and priority task of the 16th RDC is to formulate the mid-term update of the Central Luzon Regional Development Plan (CL-RDP) 2017-2022. The three pillars of RDC III – LGUs, RLAs and private sector are geared to work hand-in-hand towards building a “matatag, maginhawa at panatag na buhay” for the people of Central Luzon.