The Regional Development Council (RDC) of Central Luzon held a Convention on Volunteerism cum Election of Private Sector Representatives (PSR) on 19 August 2022 at NEDA Regional Office 3, City of San Fernando, Pampanga.

Executive Director Donald James D. Gawe of the Philippine National Volunteer Service Coordinating Agency provided an overview of volunteerism in the country. He discussed the historical roots of volunteerism such as bayanihan and pakikipag-kapwa. He also recommended how to develop a culture of volunteerism and promote its practice.

The election commenced with a briefing on the RDC and the role of PSRs. This was followed by a presentation of the election mechanics.  Twenty-four nominees vied for the 10 sectoral PSR seats of the RDC.

The following were the elected 10 PSRs for 2022-2025: (1) Ms. Amanda T. Battad of the Bataan Chamber of Commerce and Industry, (2) Ms. Elena C. Tesoro of the Philippine Association of Social Workers Inc. Pampanga Chapter, (3) Dr. Reynato C. Arimbuyutan of the Central Luzon Association of Higher Education Institutions, (4) Mr. Casiano M. Supan of the Tarlac Media Association Inc., (5) Ms. Myrna C.  Bituin of the Philippine Exporter’s Foundation on Region III, Inc., (6) Dr. Robertson G. Ramirez of the Bulacan Drug Rehabilitation Foundation Inc., (7) Atty. Heidi M. Caguioa of the Animal Kingdom Foundation, (8) Ms. Lolita S. Gattuc of the OFW Family Circle of Tarlac, (9) Bishop Alfredo S. Dela Cruz of the Pastors League of Zambales, and (10) Ms. Catherine F. San Pedro of the Subic Communications Emergency Response Team.

The newly elected PSRs will take their oath of office during the reorganization meeting of the 17th RDC III on 7 September 2022.

(Ina Christia M. De Jesus, NEDA 3-DRD)